Buhari asks Senate to confirm Justice Kayode Ariwoola as substantive CJN

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has asked the Senate to confirm Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

Justice Ariwoola is currently the Acting CJN following the resignation of Justice Tanko Muhammad.

Buhari’s request was contained in a letter read at Tuesday’s plenary by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

The President said in the letter that the request was in line with constitutional provisions and urged the Senate to expedite action on the matter.

Similarly, the President forwarded the names of five nominees to the Senate for confirmation of appointment as non-executive directors of the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The President, in the letter, explained that the request to confirm the nominees was made in accordance with Section 10(3)(a) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2007.

The nominees for confirmation include: Mike Idiahi Obadan (South-South), Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko (South-East), Ummu Ahmed Jalingo (North-East) and Adeola Adetunji (South-West).

– Advertisement –

Buhari, in the same vein asked the Senate to confirm 19 persons nominated as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Five of the REC nominees are for renewal of appointments while 14 are for fresh appointments.

The nominees for confirmation include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal), Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal), Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).

Others are Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo), Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto), Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo), Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina), Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi), and Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).

Also to be confirmed are Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi (Delta), Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna), Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Sylvia Uchenna (Enugu), Ahmed Yushau Garki (FCT), Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra) and Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe).

The Senate was equally asked to confirm Suleiman Agha Afikpo as commissioner representing the South-East zone at the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria.

The request was in accordance with the provisions of Section 3(2) of the Hajj Commission Act. Cap. 321, Laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 2004.

B88C7133 BDBC 4173 AEB1 4B89F63B2610

– Advertisement –

Nurudeen Akewushola is an investigative reporter and fact-checker with The ICIR. He believes in-depth investigative reporting is the key to social justice and good governance. You can shoot him an email via [email protected] and @NurudeenAkewus1 on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button