Buhari asks senate to confirm reappointment of four CBN directors

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the senate to confirm the reappointment of four nominees as non-executive directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The request was contained in a letter dated July 21 and read at the start of plenary by Ahmad Lawan, president of the senate, on Tuesday.

According to, Buhari the confirmation request was in accordance with Section 10(3)(a) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2007.

The nominees include Mike Obadan (South South), Justitia Nnabuko (South East), Ummu Jalingo (North East), and Adeola Adetunji (South West).

The senate committee on banking, insurance and other financial institutions is expected to screen the nominees on another legislative day.

In 2018, the senate confirmed the appointment of the four non-executive directors for four years. If the reappointment is confirmed, they will serve another term at the apex bank.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button