Buhari Seeks Senate Confirmation For 19 Nominees As INEC Commissioners


President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday forwarded a letter to the 9th Senate led by Ahmad Lawan seeking confirmation of 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The President made the plea in the letter dated 25th July 2022 and forwarded to the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

The letter was read by the Senate President on Tuesday during plenary.

President Buhari noted that the request before the lawmakers is in accordance with the provisions of Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

According to President Buhari, five of names forwarded to the upper chamber are Resident Electoral Commissioners for renewal, while the other fourteen (14) are for fresh appointments.

The nominees for confirmation include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal); Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal); Alh. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal); Dr. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Prof. Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).

Others are: Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo); Prof. Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Amb. Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina); Mrs. Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi); and Dr. Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).

Also to be confirmed are, Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna); Dr Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Sylvia Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Yushau Garki (FCT); Barr. Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra); and Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button