Macron Picks Aig-Imoukhuede France Nigeria Business Council President

By Modupe Gbadeyanka

The Chairman of Access Holdings Plc, Mr Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, has been appointed as the President of the France Nigeria Business Council (FNBC).

The astute businessman and former banker was selected for the position by the President of France, Mr Emmanuel Macron, at the Choose France Summit 2024 held on Monday, May 13, 2024.

Mr Aig-Imoukhuede’s appointment followed the passing of his late business partner, Mr Herbert Wigwe, in a helicopter crash in the United States earlier this year. The deceased banker and chief executive of Access Holdings was the council’s former President.

The Choose France Summit is an annual gathering that convenes business magnates, investors, and governmental dignitaries to explore investment prospects within France.

The highlight of this year’s event was the Presidential Dinner, characterised by high-level engagements and mutual commitments between participating parties.

The FNBC stands as a pivotal coalition of Nigerian private-sector business leaders, committed to enhancing bilateral relations between Nigeria and France.

Its core objectives revolve around the facilitation of trade, investments, infrastructural development, job creation, and cultural integration between the two nations.

Since its establishment in June 2021 under the auspices of President Emmanuel Macron, the FNBC has diligently utilised its member network to champion investments across key business sectors, fostering cultural understanding and driving economic growth between Nigeria and France.

Notably, it has catalysed Nigerian businesses’ ventures into investment opportunities within France.

Comprising 13 distinguished members, the group boasts prominent figures, including Mr Aig-Imoukhuede (President), Abdul Samad Rabiu, Gilbert Chagoury, Mike Adenuga, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia, Tony Elumelu, and John Coumantaros.

Additionally, Kola Karim, Leo Stan Ekeh, Daisy Danjuma, Gbenga Agboola, and Jean Haas serve as integral members, with Jean Haas holding the position of Secretary.

Back to top button