Radio Hall of Fame 2022 Inductees Include Emmis CEO Jeff Smulyan, Lon Helton

The 2022 inductees into the Radio Hall of Fame have been introduced on Monday (July 25) by the Museum of Broadcast Communications. The inductees shall be honored at an in-person induction ceremony on Nov. 1 on the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel in Chicago.

This yr’s 9 inductees – six males and three girls – have been chosen from a listing of 24 nominees.

The 2022 Radio Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Marv Dyson – radio government
  • Lon Helton – Country Countdown USA
  • Ellen Ok – KOST-FM Los Angeles
  • Broadway Bill Lee – WCBS-FM New York
  • Walt “Baby” Love – Gospel Traxx
  • Carol Miller – WAXQ-FM New York
  • Chris “Mad Dog” Russo – Sirius XM
  • Jeff Smulyan – Emmis Communication president and CEO
  • Suzyn Waldman – New York Yankees Radio Network (WFAN-A/F New York)

Six inductees have been decided by a voting participant panel comprised of greater than 800 trade professionals. The three remaining inductees have been voted on by the Radio Hall of Fame nominating committee. Each yr, that committee drafts the preliminary record of 24 nominations.

“Congratulations to each member of the 2022 class of inductees,” Kraig T. Kitchin, co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, stated in a press release. “Our forthcoming inductees have made a wonderful impact on the lives of their listeners and our industry. We’re thrilled to be able to celebrate their respective careers and honor them with an induction to the Radio Hall of Fame.”

Dennis Green, co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, added: “It is an honor to induct nine worthy individuals to the Radio Hall of Fame. This year was our highest voter participation ever and the radio industry picked an amazing, diverse class of broadcasters and executives that we are proud to call Hall of Famers. These individuals have made a lasting impact on this amazing industry, cementing their place as part of the legacy that makes radio special.”

The confidential poll was carried out by and overseen by Miller Kaplan’s Andrew Rosen.

Tickets to the induction ceremony are on sale now on the Hall’s website. A portion of ticket purchases is a tax-deductible charitable donation to the Museum of Broadcast Communications.

The Radio Hall of Fame was based by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over operations in 1991. The museum, situated in downtown Chicago, was based in 1983.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button